2 September - 26 August 2017

Exhibition Overview

Tjala Tjukurrpa

Tjala artists explore stories of the Honey Ant, the Seven Sisters and their deep connection to country. They are known for producing works in a vibrant palette, with dynamic movement across the canvas.  This new body of work exudes these qualities, as a new direction is explored.
Barbara Moore's idiosyncratic sweeping line and bold roundels are transformed by the addition of dramatic darks and striking reds. Yaritji Young's fluid transparent colour and line overlay gather momentum as does Wawirya Burton's Ngayuku Ngura with sweeping arcs of beautifully contrasting purples and oranges.

THE EXHIBITION FEATURES WYNNE PRIZE FINALISTS Barbara Moore, Wawiriya Burton, Yaritji Young and Archibald finalist Tjungkara Ken.  A collaboration by Mona Mitakiki Shepherd, Naomi Kantjuriny and Tjimpayi Presley also features in the show (a collaborative work by Mona and Noami was also a Wynne Prize finalist this year). In addition, Wawiriya Burton, Yaritji Young and Tjungkara Ken are NATSIAA finalists this year.   Paintings by Sylvia Kanytjupai Ken, Barbara Moore and a collaborative work by Mona Shepherd and Naomi Kantjuriny feature in this years Salon des Refuses.

Art Centres

This exhibition is brought to you by Outstation, in collaboration with the following art centres:

Exhibition Catalogue

When and where

2 September - 26 August 2017

Outstation Gallery
8 Parap Place
Northern Territory


This Outstation exhibition is comprised of works from the following artists:

  • Barbara Mbitjana Moore
  • Collaborative
  • Freda Brady
  • Ray Ken
  • Sylvia Kanytjupai Ken
  • Tjungkara Ken
  • Wawiriya Burton
  • Yaritji Young

Exhibition artworks